IEEE 7th World Forum on Internet of Things
14 June–31 July 2021 // New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

IoT based Consumer Technologies for Smart Villages





Himanshu Thapliyal, University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY, USA

Himanshu Thapliyal is an Associate Professor and Endowed Robley D. Evans Faculty Fellow with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY, USA. From 2012-14, he worked as a designer of processor test solutions at Qualcomm, where he received the Qualcomm QualStar Award for contributions to memory built-in self-tests. He has been ranked in the top 50 among scientists throughout the world in the field of ‘Computer Hardware and Architecture’ for the 2019 calendar year (PLOS Biology database). He is the recipient of the 2019 NSF CAREER award and the 2020 Mid-Career Research Achievement Award from the IEEE CS Technical Committee on VLSI. He has authored over 150 journal/conference articles with H-index=38 and received Best Paper awards at the 2021 IEEE International Conference on Consumer Electronics (ICCE), 2020 IEEE World Forum on Internet of Things, 2017 Cyber and Information Security Research Conference (CISR), and 2012 IEEE Computer Society Annual Symposium on VLSI (ISVLSI). He is serving in editorial boards of journals including Section Editor of the Springer Nature Computer Science, Senior Associate Editor of the IEEE Consumer Electronics Magazine, Associate Editor of the IEEE Internet of Things Journal, and the editorial board member of the Microelectronics Journal. His research interests include hardware security of IoT and vehicles, circuit design of emerging technologies including quantum computing, and smart healthcare.

Saraju P. Mohanty, University of North Texas, TX, USA

Saraju P. Mohanty is a Professor at the University of North Texas. Prof. Mohanty’s research is in “Smart Electronic Systems” which has been funded by NSF, SRC, US Air Force, IUSSTF, and Mission Innovation. He has authored 350 research articles, 4 books, and invented 4 US patents. His Google Scholar h-index is 41 and i10-index is 155 with 7200 citations. He is a recipient of 13 best paper awards, Fulbright Specialist Award in 2020, IEEE Consumer Technology Society Outstanding Service Award in 2020, the IEEE-CS-TCVLSI Distinguished Leadership Award in 2018, and the PROSE Award for Best Textbook in Physical Sciences and Mathematics category in 2016. He has delivered 10 keynotes and served on 11 panels at various International Conferences.  He is currently the Editor-in-Chief (EiC) of the IEEE Consumer Electronics Magazine. He has been serving on the editorial board of several peer-reviewed international journals, including IEEE Transactions on Consumer Electronics and IEEE Transactions on Bigdata. He has been serving on the Board of Governors of the IEEE Consumer Technology Society since 2019, and has served as the Chair of IEEE-CS Technical Committee on VLSI (TCVLSI) during 2014-2018. He is the founding steering committee chair for the IEEE International Symposium on Smart Electronic Systems (iSES), steering committee vice-chair of the IEEE-CS Symposium on VLSI (ISVLSI), and steering committee vice-chair of the OITS International Conference on Information Technology (ICIT).


Paper Scheduling

Organized on – 29th June 2021 at 11:30 – 12:30 EDT


11.30- 11.32 Introduction by session chairs

Himanshu Thapliyal and Saraju P. Mohanty

11:32 – 11:47 Smart Village: An IoT Based Digital Transformation
Amit Degada, Himanshu Thapliyal, Saraju P. Mohanty
11:47 – 12:02 A Lightweight Hardware-Based Authentication for Secure Smart Grid Energy Storage Units
Selcuk Kose, Fathi Amsaad
12:02 – 12:17 Multi-Granularity Control Flow Anomaly Detection with Hardware Counters
Ananda Biswas, Timothy Dee, Yunxi Guo, Zelong Li, Akhilesh Tyagi
12:17 – 12:30 Machine Learning Based Prediction of Future Stress Events in a Driving Scenario
Joseph Clark, Rajdeep Nath, Himanshu Thapliyal